Ram upgrade from original 2 x 8gb to 2 x 16gb

AMD Athlon 300U/Ryzen™ 3300U/3500U/3700U/3750H
Post Reply
Dave100
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2023 10:44 pm

Ram upgrade from original 2 x 8gb to 2 x 16gb

Post by Dave100 »

Had a reply from Nick and another guy !! super helpful but can't get a reply out as I don't quite understand the forum yet!
My other query is that if I buy the 2 new ram modules from Crucial or my memory I can buy ones that are 2400 or 2666 or 3200! I presume this is a speed rating but I am in sure
a/ if they are compatible above the 2400 you recommended
B/ does it make much difference ( have no clue what it does)
See spec below;
I can get it in all 3 versions :

4.7 out of 5 stars2,406 Reviews
Integral 32GB kit (2x16GB) DDR4 RAM 3200MHz (or 2933MHz, 2666MHz & 2400MHz) SODIMM Laptop/Notebook PC4-21333 memory

Thank you for your valued help
User avatar
Gabe
Senior Moderator
Senior Moderator
Posts: 943
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2020 1:19 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Ram upgrade from original 2 x 8gb to 2 x 16gb

Post by Gabe »

Dave100,

You are correct, in that the 2400, 2666 and 3200 are the speed ratings, in MHz. Basically, a 2400MHz module can complete 2,400,000 data transfers per second, so the higher the MHz, the 'faster' the RAM.

Normally, a unit can use higher clock speed modules than what it shows it supports, and it would just kick the speed down to the top supported. IOW, if the top speed supported by a unit was 2400MHz, and 3200MHz modules were used, they'd still work just fine, but running at a top speed of 2400MHz rather than the 3200MHz they're capable of. Again, this is normally the case, and it probably is with this, though I can't say with 100% certainty.

Hopefully the admin will be able to tell you for sure, as well as what speed the unit supports.

For reference, when you're signed in, you should be able to reply to the thread, including your original one. You'd click on "Post Reply", under the last reply on the lower left. Like here in your original topic...

Screenshot 2023-01-07 at 3.27.22 PM.png
Screenshot 2023-01-07 at 3.27.22 PM.png (41.18 KiB) Viewed 225 times
W8 Pro (Z8350 4GB/64GB) / GK1 (J4105 4GB/64GB) / AK3 (J4125 8GB/120GB) / T6 Pro (J4125 6GB/128GB) / AM02 (Athlon 300U 16GB/512GB) / AMR5 (Ryzen 5 5600U 32GB/512GB NVMe) / GK3 Pro (N5105 16GB/512GB NVMe)
User avatar
Gabe
Senior Moderator
Senior Moderator
Posts: 943
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2020 1:19 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Ram upgrade from original 2 x 8gb to 2 x 16gb

Post by Gabe »

Dave100,

After speaking with the admin, it's determined that the highest this AM02 supports is 2400MHz, so that's what I would get. I couldn't get a definitive answer regarding whether faster modules will work, but will be slowed to 2400MHz, but if it's anything like most other units, they will. Still, I'd get the 2400MHz modules.
W8 Pro (Z8350 4GB/64GB) / GK1 (J4105 4GB/64GB) / AK3 (J4125 8GB/120GB) / T6 Pro (J4125 6GB/128GB) / AM02 (Athlon 300U 16GB/512GB) / AMR5 (Ryzen 5 5600U 32GB/512GB NVMe) / GK3 Pro (N5105 16GB/512GB NVMe)
Post Reply