NEW S1 - Start-up Problem - Boots - but can't get to my Desktop

mini PC with display!
Post Reply
w6zz
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2023 2:48 pm

NEW S1 - Start-up Problem - Boots - but can't get to my Desktop

Post by w6zz »

1) I have NO User and NO Admin Password set.
2) It is NEWLY Configured. Everything was NORMAL (before shutdown).
3) Last thing I did was to set-up Microsoft Office (w/student email). It worked fine!
4) Re-Started S1, (a few hours later), IT BOOTS. But I Can't get beyond (what looks like) a "SCREEN SAVER."
5) When ANY KEY is pressed, it REVERTS to SIGN-IN screen. There is NO PASSWORD, so I click "Sign-In."
6) When I click SIGN-IN, I ONLY get "SCREEN SAVER."
7) If ANY KEY is pressed, Reverts to "SIGN-IN" - THEN, if ANY KEY is pressed, I get "SCREEN SAVER" again.

Thanks for your URGENT assistance!
HOWARD

SEE PHOTOS:






w6zz
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2023 2:48 pm

Re: NEW S1 - Start-up Problem - Boots - but can't get to my Desktop

Post by w6zz »

I need to force the S1 into a default state. I've lost access to my Desktop and links to all programs. It just cycles between the "Sign-in Page" and a "Blank Desktop" or "Screen Saver," as I described.

Maybe I can ask Acemagic to send me a replacement SSD so I can go back to a NEW "Out-of-Box" state. I don't have the capability of creating an SSD, other than with the S1. Anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks,
Howard
Last edited by w6zz on Mon Nov 20, 2023 1:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
barry777
Posts: 942
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2023 1:08 am
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 74 times

Re: NEW S1 - Start-up Problem - Boots - but can't get to my Desktop

Post by barry777 »

It is recommended to refer to the following steps and videos:


w6zz
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2023 2:48 pm

Re: NEW S1 - Start-up Problem - Boots - but can't get to my Desktop

Post by w6zz »

Thanks!
Any idea of what could have caused this problem? I won't lose valuable files. But I spent many hours setting up the S1 and now I have to start all over. Is this a "known risk" with this machine? There's NO Password so there should be NO lockout from the sign-in screen. I guess I don't understand as I've never encountered this situation.

---Howard
User avatar
barry777
Posts: 942
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2023 1:08 am
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 74 times

Re: NEW S1 - Start-up Problem - Boots - but can't get to my Desktop

Post by barry777 »

This may be due to system update issues;
It is recommended to refer to the steps to reset the system (optional to keep files)
Post Reply

Return to “New Model S1”